What’s something most people don’t understand?

I think a lot of people don’t understand the need for subjects such as history and geography in school. And honestly, I don’t understand it very well either.

History is a subject which invites us to look at the past and learn more about our ancestors. However, I feel that dwelling on the past and what has already happened is not of much use. Preparing for the future is much more beneficial, in my mind.

Geography teaches us about various places and climate, agriculture etc. While it is great to know more about the earth’s physical features, I feel it would be even better to learn about ways in which we can help the earth to be lush and green once again.

Of course, I admire the people who take up History and Geography and help to uncover more knowledge about these subjects. However, I as a student, do not see the need to learn History and Geography as subjects. Sure, I would love to know more about them if they were presented in the form of general knowledge. But I feel that topics such as taxes, accounts and bettering the environment should be taught more in schools, because as we grow up and live in the real world, it is practical knowledge that will help us to truly prosper.

Leave a comment


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started